Day 15…I left…fortunately!

After checking my shuttle reservation last night and  I discovered that I was actually scheduled for the bus the day before, even thought my flight was 4:35 pm this afternoon.  After contacting TMS, (the bus service) by email, their auto response was basically, sorry out of luck and that there were no morning shuttles to Charlotte.

So I scrambled trying to figure out of I could rent  car in the nearby town of Beckley and tried to get a hold of other San Diego people to see if there was a slim chance they had a rental car themselves.  Needless to say, I was worried as the car rental place in Beckley didn’t open until 10 am and I still had to get there. So it was as restless night and I woke up at 5 am to get everything packed at over to the shuttle area first thing to see if there were any other options.

Although the TMS signs didn’t indicate it, there were actually two 8 am shuttles to Charlotte and there was plenty of room! So much for worrying, but TMS could have been way more helpful.  In fact that might have been the worst part of the Jamboree, the shuttles as I had a problem with them coming too (see Day 1 of this blog).

So we said goodbye to the Summit!

As we drove away and through West Virginia, this song came to mind, which I mated with a photo I took on my daily hike from the Echo Base to the Summit Center.

On the bus I completed the survey the Jamboree sent out to all volunteers and I would suggest any one that went as a volunteer do as well.

So we all made it back.  Here is a picture of our Council Venturing Crew, which I only saw for the first time at their arrival back home.

The 2017 Jamboree is officially done 🙂

Categories: Jamboree | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

